Holy Cow: I am proud to be an ANIMAL

Published November 28, 2015 by Jeannette Louise Smith

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything in regard to animal rights. Reading David Duchovny’s book, Holy Cow, reminded me why I stopped writing: I lost faith in the human animal. Without revealing the gory details, suffice it to say: I am committed to avoiding the Evil Tongue, speaking disparagingly about others and causing hatred.

I could tell you the plot of David Duchovny’s book, Holy Cow, remark about the use of humor and pop culture references in his action packed adventure, but these are just the creative trimmings decorating the most important and compelling aspects of the book.

Ultimately, Duchovny challenges the choices of the human animal, what we have allowed ourselves to become, our resistance to changing our perspective and habits, and our incessant speciesistic outlook and practices – vegans included.

I know humans consider it a grave insult to be called an animal. Well, I would never give a human the fine distinction of being called an animal, because an animal may kill to live but an animal never lives to kill. Humans have to earn the right to be called animals again.”

The most significant and poignant bottom line is – and I will continue to reiterate this until my last breath:

We can only achieve harmony between the human animal and non-human animals, if we achieve harmony amongst, ourselves, our own animal species.

If a cow, turkey, and pig can co-exist, work together to accomplish personal and collective goals (Why a cow, pig, and turkey? Read the book!), the ever-looming question remains: Why can’t the human animal co-exist, collaborate, and achieve the peace we all desire?

The human animal is able to and can cooperate. For whatever reason, which is beyond the psychological scope of this introspection, humans choose not to. Vegans included.

Living a vegan lifestyle extends way beyond our compassion for non-human animals and includes equality, unity, tolerance, understanding, and compassion for ALL of our fellow human animals.

You think I’m crazy? Read the book. Watch the news. Read a newspaper. Deeply study and consider how you treat your own species.

Holy Cow! Self-righteousness leads nowhere – only to dissension and contention.

This is my religion – we’re all animals, perfect animals created in the infinite image and imagination of nature. It’s a life not without pain and competition and suffering, but it can be a life of dignity and mutual respect.”

That goes without saying. That applies to everything and everyone, vegan and non-vegan. As a collective community, all of our vegan and non-vegan efforts and achievements matter.

Now is the time for you and me to “rejoin the animal kingdom and once again be proud to be called animals.”

Click here to visit the HOLY COW Facebook page.

6 comments on “Holy Cow: I am proud to be an ANIMAL

  • I wish I could say I fully agree with you, but unfortunately the way the world is build it doesn’t really allow humans to ever reach an “animal-like” state. Religion, identity, and patriotism keep us from being able to co-exist. Power and the need for it keeps countries from interacting in a humane way. When millions of people are dying in other countries and we are all here sipping our $5 lattes and getting our $90 haircuts it is hard to imagine that we will ever reach a world of utopia. I will have to read this book however to see what it is all about. I do agree with you that we need to treat everyone well non-vegans and vegans. All humans regardless of race, religion, or gender deserve to be treated with respect. http://www.beteavon2015.wordpress.com

    • Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I understand and agree with you wholeheartedly. I don’t believe in Utopia or perfection; there are too many convoluted and interconnected political, cultural, and economic issues that prevent our ability to co-exist. However, humans are animals and we have a choice about what kind of human animal we want to be. On a collective level, we may not be able to ever reach a pure animal-like state, but on an individual level – for those who choose to – we can let go of the unnecessary, create a new norm for ourselves, and live a more cruelty-free life which goes way beyond our habits and philosophy regarding to non-human animals. Ultimately, it is hypocritical for humans to profess a cruelty-free life in regard to non-human animals, but treat their own with disdain.

  • Yes, I completely agree. I am deeply connected with the animal right movement, but what bothers me the most about it is that many times it simply shifts ethical concerns from people to animals. I feel deeply towards animals well being, but also towards environment integrity and possibly mostly importantly, people’s well being.
    I think it is not possible to truly have integrity without considering the three: people, animals and nature, which I think that matter equally.

  • Leave a Reply

